Skip to content
Mobile Notary Fees
VerifiedVerified September 6, 2026

Oregon Notary Fees

Acknowledgment: Up to $10.00 per act

Oregon caps notary fees at $10.00 per notarial act for acknowledgments, verifications on oath or affirmation, copy certifications, signature witnessing, oaths/affirmations without a signature, and protests ($0 for a check drawn on an insolvent financial institution). Remote online notarizations may be charged up to $25.00 per act. Travel fees are permitted but not fixed by statute.

Source: Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division · ORS 194.400; OAR 160-100-0400

Maximum notary fees in Oregon

What the official source allows a notary to charge for each notarial act. Charging less, or nothing, is allowed.

Oregon maximum notary fees by act
AcknowledgmentUp to $10.00 per actper actNot more than $10 per notarial act for taking an acknowledgment.
Verification on OathUp to $10.00 per actper actTaking a verification upon an oath or affirmation, $10 per act.
JuratUp to $10.00 per actper actOregon terms this a verification upon oath or affirmation; $10 per act.
Copy CertificationUp to $10.00 per actper actCertifying a copy of a document, $10 per act.
Signature WitnessingUp to $10.00 per actper actWitnessing or attesting a signature, $10 per act.
Oath / AffirmationUp to $10.00 per actper actAdministering an oath or affirmation without a signature, $10 per act.
ProtestUp to $10.00 per actper actProtesting commercial paper, $10; $0 for a check drawn on an insolvent financial institution.
Remote Online NotarizationUp to $25.00 per actper actRemote online notarization, not more than $25 per notarial act.

How Oregon counts notary fees

Counted per notarial act

Acknowledgment, verification on oath, jurat, copy certification, signature witnessing, oath / affirmation, protest and remote online notarization: each notarial act performed is capped at $10.00 (or the amount listed for that act). The maximum for several acts is the number of acts times the per-act cap.

  • Acknowledgment, 1 act: up to $10.00
  • Acknowledgment, 4 acts: up to $40.00

Price a Oregon appointment

Notarial acts start at the verified Oregon maximum and are checked against it. Travel and add-ons use example rates you can change.

Oregon quote calculator

1Job

Act fees default to the verified maximum

2Notarial acts

$10.00

Maximum per act

Defaults to the verified Oregon maximum. Count units follow the state rule (per act, signature or signer).

3Travel

$40.00
Bill for travel

Used for the vehicle-cost estimate

Flat $40.00 per appointment.

4Printing & add-ons

$0.00
Printing

Scanbacks
After-hours
Waiting time

5Time & costs

Estimate net & hourly rate

Round trip

Fuel, wear, insurance share

Courier, supplies

Uses the miles you drive and your print cost whether or not you bill for them. An operational estimate, not accounting profit.

Suggested total

$50

General Notary Work · Oregon

Notarial acts
$10.00
Travel & service fees
$40.00

Job economics (estimate)

Est. direct costs
$0.00
Est. net
$50.00
Effective rate
$150.00/hr

20 min total time. Costs: mileage $0.00, printing $0.00, other $0.00. An operational estimate, not accounting profit; it leaves out taxes, insurance and overhead.

Breakdown

  • Notarial acts

    1 × acknowledgment

    $10.00

  • Travel

    Flat

    $40.00

Total

$50.00

Notarial acts vs. service fees

Within verified statutory fee limit

$10.00 verified maximum for your entries

  • best practices include ... making them public in advance of agreeing to perform any notarization (travel fees)

Travel, printing and add-ons are not part of this check. Some states restrict these charges, and listing a fee separately does not by itself make it permitted.

Oregon on travel feesA notary may charge for traveling to perform a notarial act. However, travel fees are not specified in statute, and best practices include keeping them reasonable, keeping them consistent, and making them public in advance of agreeing to perform any notarization.

Oregon notary fee reference and official source

Travel fees in Oregon

A notary may charge for traveling to perform a notarial act. However, travel fees are not specified in statute, and best practices include keeping them reasonable, keeping them consistent, and making them public in advance of agreeing to perform any notarization.

Travel is a separate charge from the notarial act, so the maximums above do not cover it. Work out a travel charge with the notary travel fee calculator.

Fee notes from the Oregon source

best practices include ... making them public in advance of agreeing to perform any notarization (travel fees)

Electronic and remote notarization

A notary public performing a remote online notarization shall not charge, attempt to charge, or receive a notary fee that is more than $25 per notarial act.

Quoted from the official source

A notary public shall not charge, attempt to charge, or receive a notary fee that is more than $10 per notarial act for taking an acknowledgement. The same $10 maximum applies to taking a verification upon an oath or affirmation, certifying a copy of a document, witnessing or attesting a signature, and administering an oath or affirmation without a signature. Additionally, the maximum is $10 for protesting commercial paper, except $0 for a check drawn on an insolvent financial institution. ... A notary public performing a remote online notarization shall not charge, attempt to charge, or receive a notary fee that is more than $25 per notarial act. ... In accordance with ORS 194.400(2)(a)(b) and 194.400(3), a notary may also charge a fee for traveling to perform a notarial act.
Quoted from Notary Public Fee Schedule (OAR 160-100-0400, Maximum Amount of Notary Fees Permitted to be Charged). Passages are quoted, not paraphrased; where passages from the same source are joined, “ ... ” marks the gap. Open the official source for the full text.

Caveats and research notes

Supporting official documents: https://sos.oregon.gov/business/Documents/Fees-Oregon-notary-may-charge.pdf and the Oregon Notary Public Guide. OAR 160-100-0400 is hosted at secure.sos.state.or.us. Effective date of the current fee rule was not returned by search.